What is God’s Love?

ImageDoes God’s heart pitter-patter

When He thinks of me?

Does He blush at my every word?

Or has He chosen to love despite iniquity

With no responding love every heard?

Does His love overcome my hate,

Pull me in when I pull away,

Revealing my self-hating state?

Was His choice based on my worthiness,

The value of my contribution?

Or is it based on His faithfulness

Despite my tendency for revolution?

Is God’s love for me seen in action,

A completed transaction when He paid the price,

Without my invitation, or expectation,

Or request for His sacrifice?

“God demonstrated His love for me,”[1]

That I can see it is very clear.

“While I was yet a sinner,”[2]

From a distance very afar, certainly not near.

“By His death in innocence, in my place,”[3]

Not for my sins alone, “but for the human race.”[4]

Thus love is decided, decided, committed;

Those three, a loving trinity.

But is my love, for Him, for others,

Decided, determined and shown?

Or does it claim its rights,

As selfish as I am prone?

What is God’s love?

How is it seen in me?

Does it make a difference

In loving others as much as I love me?


[1] Romans 5:8.

[2] Ibid.

[3] Ibid.

[4] 1 John 2:2.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 405 other followers

