Boots of Sorrow

 

I spread the paper to protect the floorImage

 

And got my boot to give a shine.

 

Good black stuff to make them more

 

Acceptable, pretty, fix them up fine.

 

The scrapes and scuffs would disappear

 

As application was being made

 

Of goop like magic, wipe and smear

 

That caused my mind to be dismayed.

 

How can the years be wiped away

 

With something so simple and cheap

 

I paused and thought and said, “Hey,

 

I must stop thinking so deep.

 

The mirror confirmed my fears

 

The sorrow was certainly there to stay.

 

For nothing could remove from me the years

 

And wipe the scuffs and scrapes away.

 

Oh I wish I was a boot

 

Where polish could fix my woes.

 

But now, no one can dispute

 

That scuffs and scrapes is how life goes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 405 other followers

