It’s Amazing God Would Even Bless

Image

A whimsical verse about going to Church for the wrong reason.

Sunday morning, Satan was working.

It’s amazing God would even bless.

Sister Agness and Sister Gertrude

Were wearing the exact same dress.

There wasn’t more than hateful glares.

Last time, they had to be pulled apart.

They regretfully have the exact same taste

For special deals at Wal-Mart.

Trouble was about to blow.

When you walked in, you just knew

When you saw that Brother Walter

Had sat again in Grandpa’s pew.

All the songs were way to slow,

Except for the ones too fast.

One of the songs was only twenty years old

Instead of the good old ones from the past.

For Brother Harold, the temperature was too hot,

But for Miss Patsy, it was way too cold.

Most of the people would not greet you,

Except for those that are way too bold.

It’s amazing that God would even bless.

The preacher preached way too long.

And do we have to sing all five verses

Of the invitation song?

But Mattie Sue and Bobby

Must have read the Bible straight,

Because they came to get their lives right,

And the sermon wasn’t all that great.

And then came Billy Butler,

And for one time, he had behaved,

And on the third verse of “Amazing Grace”

Walked up the isle to get saved.

Next thing you know the alter

Was full of people to pray,

And when the service ended

Most of them wanted to stay.

People were crying and weeping.

Their eyes were flowing with tears.

And I saw some people hugging

That hadn’t spoken in years.

It was amazing that God would even bless.

That he did, you can’t debate.

The show I saw was worth far more

Than the dollar I put in the plate.

Tagged:

5 thoughts on “It’s Amazing God Would Even Bless

  1. Barb Ezell April 14, 2013 at 2:19 pm Reply

    What a great Sunday poem! It made this pastr’s Sunday complete!

    • pastortimwhite April 15, 2013 at 4:00 pm Reply

      Thank you for your encouragement, Barb. I am glad you enjoyed it.

  2. Gerontificator April 18, 2013 at 1:44 am Reply

    Nice poem Pastor Tim. Thanks for visiting The Gerontificator and appreciating my art. I do have a sillybone. I write silly poetry too. I don’t think you’ve come by my poetry blog yet? thepoetlauraate.wordpress.com

  3. Gerontificator April 18, 2013 at 1:45 am Reply

    You might also be interested in my thoughts on Christianity at twohouserestoration.wordpress.com

  4. pastortimwhite April 18, 2013 at 2:02 am Reply

    David, my apologies. I had thought I had liked the poem The Poet Laura Ate. I told my wife I clicked like. Her name is Laura and she enjoyed it too. Thank you for your encouragement. Also, keep up the good (and goofy) work.
    tim

Leave a Reply

