If my people

I once quoted, “If my people, called by my name…”if my people

For a nation to turn around.

I now question if I should say the same,

If such reasoning is biblically sound.

No doubt there is a need to repent.

Humility is needed in every generation.

But turning from faithfulness is meant

For another people, another nation.

I wish I could be certain today

That the promise would work for our people,

That the future of our nation’s way

Would rest in those gathered under the steeple.

Our promises now are for individual’s lives.

And not a government or a nation.

It’s now about how our spirit strives

Within our called and assigned station.

So humility, prayer, God-passion and repentance

Is still a must, a call, a priority,

It will help our little world to a distance,

But will not change our greater society.

God has not promised to save our land,

Our nation was not a promise of anyone’s possession.

But our hearts have a need which stands.

A need to learn repentance’s lesson.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

